Mini Bacon and Cheese Frittatas

Mini Bacon & Cheese Frittatas: easy, adorable, fast, and delicious.

I’ve talked many, many times about my family’s love for brinner (breakfast + dinner). Not only is it quick and easy, but it’s also a frugal way to get protein. While we are so not vegetarians, I do try to cook a couple meatless meals each week to help our budget.

This, though, isn’t one of those meals. Which was actually one of Jon’s favorite things about them when I made them a couple weeks ago. It had been a couple nights in a row of meatlessness, so he was really jonesing for some.

As with most of my recipes, these frittatas come together quickly. A lot of the prep work can be completed earlier in the day, leaving just the baking to do right before serving.

I use turkey bacon, but regular bacon would work fine, too. Either variety will add the perfect amount of saltiness and chewiness.

Mini Bacon & Cheese Frittatas: easy, adorable, fast, and delicious.

As with most egg dishes like this, you can use whatever combination of cheeses, veggies, meats, spices, and herbs you prefer. This time, I chose cheddar cheese and dried parsley and added some diced orange and yellow bell peppers.

Mini Bacon & Cheese Frittatas: easy, adorable, fast, and delicious.

I make mine in a regular size muffin cups, but the original recipe calls for mini muffin cups. If you decide to bake yours in mini cups, be sure to reduce the cooking time.

Mini Bacon & Cheese Frittatas: easy, adorable, fast, and delicious.

Mini Bacon and Cheese Frittatas

recipe adapted from Giada De Laurentiis

recipe yields 8 regular size frittatas or 30-40 minis

  • 8 eggs
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 6 oz. pork or turkey bacon, cooked and chopped
  • 1/2 c. cheddar cheese
  • 2 tsp. dried parsley
  • additional vegetables, if desired

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. In a large bowl, combine the eggs and milk. Mix well until eggs are completely scrambled. Add the pepper and salt; stir until well combined. Stir in the bacon, cheese, and dried parsley.

3. Pour mixture into greased regular-size muffin cups, filling almost to the top. Bake for about 15-18  minutes, or until the frittatas are puffy and set and just starting to turn golden around the edges. Remove immediately from muffin pan and serve.

**Note: these frittatas freeze well! Just put them on a baking sheet, sides not touching, and freeze for an hour or two. Remove them from the sheet and transfer to a freezer-safe ziploc bag. To reheat, bake at 375 until warmed through.**

Mini Bacon & Cheese Frittatas: easy, adorable, fast, and delicious.

I want to know: what will you put in your frittatas?

 

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Mini Bacon and Cheese Frittatas

  1. Amy Mayen says:

    I’ve never even heard of a frittata. What kind of pan is that? Have I been living under a rock? Everybody would be so impressed if I made those…

    • It’s a silicone pan, but the size is just a standard muffin/cupcake size. I often use my metal pans, too. These are so easy and so delicious; you have to make them and then throw around the word “frittata” as if it’s something you’ve been making forever 🙂

  2. Nicki says:

    YUM! Gonna try these for sure!

  3. Shauna {The Best Blog Recipes} says:

    I could totally go for a batch of these myself right now 🙂 I’d love for you to link up a few yummy recipes at my weekend link party on The Best Blog Recipes if you haven’t already!

    Hope to see you there!

    Shauna
    http://thebestblogrecipes.blogspot.com/
    http://ready2loseweight.blogspot.com/

  4. buttons says:

    I’ve been wanting to try the muffin tin fritatas for ages! I’ll definitely have to give it a go, these look delicious!
    Cheers!
    Buttons
    The Hot Toddies of Washington

  5. They look and sound delicious! I can’t wait to try them. I think I will try them with crumbled sausage. By the way, we found you on the Two Girls and a Party (linky party). Thanks for sharing.

  6. Janis Cox says:

    This looks like an amazing idea. I will have to find a way to save it where I won’t lose it. I am following you from Inspire Me Monday.
    Blessings,
    Janis Cox – Author of Tadeo Turtle
    http://www.janiscox.com

  7. 2Momma2 says:

    Yum! I make different versions of these all the time and freeze them. It’s so great to try different recipes. I’ll definitely try your recipe next.

    http://www.exploringdomesticity.blogspot.com

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: April 8-14 | Mother on a Mission

  9. OMG, these look AMAZING!!! Thank you for sharing with Simple Supper Tuesday!

  10. Simplee Sue says:

    These look delicious. I love individual serving dishes. Thank you for sharing.

    We may have met by chance..but we become friends by choice.
    http://simpleesue.com/try-one-new-recipe-a-week-bed-and-breakfast-cherry-crumb-coffee-cake/

  11. Kayla says:

    These look really good! Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful recipe!,

    -Kayla 🙂

  12. Heather says:

    I just made these and they were delicious! Can’t wait to try reheating them for a no-prep breakfast. Thanks!

  13. Yummy & low carb! I’ve pinned this!!

  14. Hi Abby! Yummy those looks so delicious! This recipe is bookmarked 🙂 have a happy day!

  15. Pingback: Two Girls and a Party {Linky Party No. 11} | This Silly Girl's LifeThis Silly Girl's Life

  16. Krista says:

    Abby, saw this on the Two Girls & a Party Link Party and they look AWESOME! I was actually just thinking that I really want to make breakfast for dinner tonight and these would be perfect. Pinning this now. Thanks for the great recipe! 🙂

    Krista @ joyfulhealtheats

  17. This. Looks. Good. !!!!! Great pictures too! Newest follower here 🙂
    Danielle@snipetsofinspiration.com

  18. realcoake says:

    Those looks sooo good! Since I have tons of leftover ham in the freezer, these look like they would work really well for us.
    Thanks so much for linking up at the Real Family Fun link party! Hope to see you next week.
    KC

  19. Awesome idea! Thank you!

  20. Pingback: Welcome to “Think Tank Thursday” #26 » Joyful Homemaking

  21. Pingback: Potato-Crusted Sausage Quiche | Mother on a Mission

  22. Cindy says:

    My son is always looking for protein snacks, these look like the ticket! Thank you I will make these for him. Thank you for the great idea!

  23. Judy says:

    Hi Abby,

    This post made it to the Top features. Here’s the link: Top10 Features from Pin It Monday Hop#3/

  24. Sistergirl says:

    Looks so yummy, I am going to try it.

  25. I’ve been making these with spinach, swiss and parmesean cheeses, mushrooms, and sage sausage crumbles. Had no idea they had a fancy name, but they’re always terrific. Going to have to try bacon and other fillings now.

  26. Pingback: Weekly Dinner Menu: 4/22-4/27 | Moore Than A Mommy

  27. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: May 20-26 | Mother on a Mission

  28. Pingback: Top 10+1 Features from Pin It Monday Hop#3 – Pursuit of Functional Home

  29. Pingback: Two Girls and a Party Link Up {Week #11} | Life With The Crust Cut OffLife With The Crust Cut Off

  30. Pat says:

    i will have to try this but I had one question about your recipe.
    You have stated that you put diced orange in this.I cant imagine how that would taste?

  31. Debbie says:

    I have done something similar but I used green chili’s, turkey bacon, green onions and Monterey Jack cheese. Super YUM! I wonder if you could use crescent dough in the bottom of the muffin tin to get a “quiche” affect!?

  32. Tanya Cox says:

    My husband is trying to control his glucose levels without medication and this recipe will cheer him up!!

  33. Pingback: Two Girls and a Party {Linky Party No. 11} - This Silly Girl's Life

  34. Pingback: Baked Chicken & Pepper Egg Rolls | Mother on a Mission

  35. Pingback: Hunger Buster Low Carb Bacon Frittata | Ruled Me

Leave a comment