How a dry erase marker saves my laundry (and my sanity)

For years, I’ve been using a dry erase marker to write notes to myself on the bathroom mirror. In college, my suite-mates and I would write Bible verses or fun notes to each other.

When I got married, I continued the tradition by writing notes to my husband. Then my first pregnancy brought with it quite the case of pregnancy brain. My dry erase notes became reminders and lists that seemed necessary for everyday functioning.

Now, two chidlren later, that pregnancy brain has turned to mom brain. You can probably imagine how elated, not to mention proud, I was to discover this gem:

Image

That’s right, I write on my washing machine using a dry erase marker. Now I know what clothes to remove before I switch the load to the dryer and which clothes to check to be sure that a stain was removed. In addition, this allows my husband and I to finish a load of laundry that the other started, without guessing as to the instructions for the contents.

To clean off the marker after each load, I just wipe the lid with a rag or dark-colored sock that’s going in the next load.

I want to know: what tips and tricks do you use to compensate for a less-than-perfect memory?

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in Tips & Tricks. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How a dry erase marker saves my laundry (and my sanity)

  1. Cindy says:

    I’m a mom of nine kids so I am always writing things down. I have a whiteboard on the fridge, on the laundry room wall and in my room. I love the idea of writing on the washer lid.

  2. LOVE this idea! I will definitely start using it. Dry erase markers and a white board save my sanity daily — I use the one stuck to the side of my fridge as my To-Do List.

    If I have to remember to bring something to someone (or somewhere) I immediately stick it in the diaperbag. Then, since I try to do all errands at once, I write on the back of my shopping list the order in which they need to be completed (or I’d forget something and have to double back!).

  3. This is such a great idea! Loving your menu ideas and fun stuff on your blog. Following you on FB! Thanks for stopping by Real Southern Living!

Leave a Reply

