Menu Plan Monday: April 1-7

menu

 

I’ve mentioned before that I’m a little tired of the rut we’re in when it comes to meals. Jon is a super picky eater, and we’re in a season of life where it isn’t usually possible to spend as much time in the kitchen as I’d like. For those reasons, it’s often easier to rely on a handful of meals that I already know we like. But lately I’ve decided that there’s no reason I can’t compromise: stretch Jon’s picky palate and my time constraints without leaving either of us hungry or overwhelmed.

With my new resolution in mind, I plan to try at least one new main dish recipe each week in April, as well as several additional new recipes throughout the month. It’s my goal to find a few new favorites to add in to the rotation.

Monday: Easter supper leftovers

Tuesday: oven-fried chimichangas

Wednesday: baked spaghetti

Thursday: Mom’s having dinner out; leftovers for the others

Friday: skillet pizzas (new recipe!)

Saturday: healthier chocolate chip pancakes

Sunday: sandwiches and sweet potato fries

I want to know: what recipes do you suggest to help me break out of this supper rut?

 

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in Food & Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Menu Plan Monday: April 1-7

  1. Beth says:

    I am totally in a dinner rut too! I literally sit down to plan some days and can’t think of a single. thing. to put on the menu that I’m not sick to death of. Then I start Pinteresting or looking for new recipes in magazines and plan a whole week with nothing BUT new recipes. (Moderation is not my strong point.) And THEN I wear myself out with these super complicated dishes that I could never in a million years replicate because they’re too fancy.

    That pizza looks AH-mazing, though. Might be time for artichokes up in my house.

    Also, that quote by Orson Welles made me laugh.

    • My Pinterest food boards make me hungry, but they also make me want someone else to cook for me…I don’t have the ambition to tackle most of the recipes I pin.

      I’m glad someone else appreciates that quote! I was pretty ambivalent about using it, since my menu plan doesn’t include lunch, but I decided I had to go with it since I smile every time I read it.

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

  2. Jen L. says:

    I struggle with meal planning because I am also in a rut. I recently found your site and you have given me 2 new meals including the Baked Taquitos. We are loving the Taquitos! I did stumble across a super easy crock pot beef sandwich recipe. I hesitate using larger cuts of beef because of cost but the meat was on sale this week and thought “why not?” I am so glad I did. Made it yesterday and got a double thumbs up from all 5 of us. Wonder if this would work for you. I served it with homemade french fries and green beans.

    http://www.cookingclassy.com/2012/08/slow-cooker-french-dip-sandwiches-5-minutes-prep-recipe/

    • I’m so glad you love the taquitos! They’re a family favorite, and they freeze well. I’m definitely going to check out the sandwich recipe; I plan to use my crockpot often this summer. Thanks for passing it along, and for taking the time to leave a sweet comment! I hope you check back in the next couple weeks; I’ll be posting two favorite new recipes!

Leave a Reply

