Early to Rise Challenge: If You Say So

Early to Rise Challenge: If You Say So

My morning routine always begins the exact same way. Because I’m still feeding my daughter, Bennie, breastmilk, I pump immediately after waking. Usually, I pump for about 20-25 minutes (or approximately the length of one episode of 30 Rock).

My reason- okay, my excuse- for not using this time to read my Bible has always been that  I’m almost always only half awake. I’m not a coffee drinker, and at this point I haven’t showered yet, so that first half hour is my time to become fully conscious.

In the past, my other excuse would be that both kids were already awake and chatting to themselves in their rooms. Who can focus with baby babble coming at you from two different directions? Thanks to the challenge, though, I’ve been waking up around 6:00 lately, which has pretty much squashed that excuse.

Despite writing in a previous post about not making excuses, I was doing just that. I was using flimsy excuses as reasons not to begin my day with God. Until Monday, that is, when He stepped in and showed me who is in charge (hint: it isn’t me).

I watch Netflix on our Wii while pumping,but on Monday morning the Wii remote wouldn’t work. I tried several times, but the TV just wasn’t picking up the signal. I had just started pumping, so I wasn’t about to stop just to investigate the problem. Besides, it might take me longer than some to catch on, but I can certainly take a hint when it’s shoved right in front of my face.

So I said okay, Lord, if You say so. I grabbed my Bible from the bedside table, asked Him to lead me to a passage that He would have me read, and opened my Bible.

The passage I read that morning, from Numbers, was about trusting God’s timing even when we don’t see His plan. Given the unknowns in my life right now, it was just what I needed to read.

I was able to spend my 25 minutes that morning reading scripture and praying. It’s the first time in a long time that I’ve done those things first thing in the morning, and I was happily surprised by how positively my day was affected by it.

When I was through pumping on Monday, I walked to the TV to find that the DVD remote was blocking the bar that picks up the signal from the Wii remote. Neither my husband nor myself have used the DVD player in weeks and we don’t recall moving the remote.

Sometimes God whispers. Sometimes he moves in such obvious ways that it’s hard to deny He’s speaking to us. Even though I heard His shouts on Monday, it’s been my prayer this week that I’ll be more aware and mindful of the whispers in my life. It’s been my prayer to say, all day every day, okay, Lord, if You say so.

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in Marriage, Parenting, & Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Early to Rise Challenge: If You Say So

  1. Shari G says:

    So very true! I always tell God, you made me this way, and I miss subtle hints, please block all the ways but the one you want me to take. So for me, most of the time things are like this, so very obvious! LOL Good for you for taking the hint and starting the day like that.

  2. Such a lovely post.
    Its really not that hard to find 30 mins a day, especially at the start of the day before kids get up, to read the Bible, yet its so easy to make escuses not to.
    I recently had that happen to me. Just opened up my bible and read the most incredible passage that spoke so loudly to me.

Leave a Reply

