Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese

I ate a lot of these sandwiches when I was pregnant with Bennie.

In my defense, I made then on sourdough bread, and Jon doesn’t like sourdough bread. So once I bought a loaf, I couldn’t just make one sandwich and let the rest go to waste, could I?

So, because I’m nothing if not frugal, I made these often.

But I hadn’t had one in months, until a couple weeks ago when, out of the blue, the craving struck. I added jalapenos to the grocery list and pretty much forgot about it, even as I put them in my cart last week.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese

Then yesterday a friend posted a photo of a to-die-for-looking version of this sandwich on Instagram. Like a light bulb, I remembered those little green gems now hanging out in the drawer of the fridge. And, instantly, I knew what I was having for lunch today.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese

-2 jalapenos (my homemade bread is small, so I only had room to use one)

-cream cheese

-two slices of bread (many people use sourdough, I thought it was great with the homemade wheat bread I had on hand)

-shredded or thinly sliced cheddar cheese

-pepperjack cheese (optional)

-butter

Slice jalapenos lengthwise and remove seeds. Place cut side down on a foil- or parchment paper-lined baking sheet and place under the broiler for 5-10 minutes, or until the tops are dark and charred.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled CheesePlace the peppers in a plastic ziploc bag or a covered bowl for about 20 minutes, and then pull the charred skins off the cooled peppers; discard the skins.

Next, build your sandwich. Spread cream cheese on one side of two slices of bread. Add your cheese(s) and jalapenos to one slice and top with the remaining slice. Slather the outsides of both slices with butter.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled CheeseCook the sandwich over medium-low heat on the stove top. It’s important not to cook the outside too fast because you want to make sure the cheeses inside get melty and gooey.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled CheeseI’ve seen versions of this recipe that use crushed tortilla chips, bacon, and even raspberry jam; It’s hard to go wrong when you’re combining two delicious foods.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled CheeseI want to know: what tasty twist would you add to your jalapeno popper grilled cheese?

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in Food & Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese

  1. Pingback: Bacon Jalapeno Cheddar Biscuits | Mother on a Mission

  2. Michelle says:

    I love jalapeno poppers, so this looks awesome. Thanks for sharing on Foodie Friends Friday!

  3. Leslie says:

    So glad I found this on craft o maniac monday. I looks delish and I love jalepenos.

  4. Pingback: Jalapeño Popper Pizza | Mother on a Mission

Leave a Reply

