Baked Spaghetti

Baked Spaghetti

 

This baked spaghetti is my go-to the-labor-intensive-meal-I-had-planned-is-so-not-happening-tonight meal. It can be thrown together in just a few minutes more than the time it takes to cook the pasta, and it’s made with ingredients we almost always have on hand.

Don’t let the recipe’s simplicity fool you, though. This spaghetti is cheesy and gooey and saucy and just about everything you could want in a pasta dish. Plus, the way it bakes with the cheese and the sauce holding everything together makes it much easier to eat than a traditional spaghetti.

I love that this recipe is completely adaptable. You can use any type of noodles and cheese you have on hand, and you can totally toss in a handful of your favorite fresh or frozen veggies. Even my picky eater devours this dish and asks for seconds.What more can you want?

Baked Spaghetti

Baked Spaghetti

1 lb. whole grain spaghetti

1 1/2 c. spaghetti sauce

2 c. cheese, divided (I usually use half cheddar and half mozzarella)

1 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp parsley flakes

1/4 tsp salt

pinch of red pepper flakes (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook spaghetti according to package instructions, but stop a minute or two before the time specified.

2. In a medium bowl, combine sauce, half of cheese, and spices. When pasta is done cooking, drain and add to sauce mixture. Mix everything until pasta is evenly coated and transfer to a greased 9 x 13 baking dish. Sprinkle remaining cheese evenly over pasta.

3. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Baked Spaghetti

I want to know: what is your family’s favorite way to enjoy pasta?

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in Food & Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Baked Spaghetti

  1. This looks delicious. I have a link party called Wednesdays Adorned From Above Blog Hop and would love to have you share this and any other posts with everyone. It runs from Tuesday night through midnight Sunday. Here is the link to the party.
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com/2013/02/wednesdays-adorned-from-above-blog-hop_26.html
    Debi and Charly @ Adorned From Above

  2. This looks SO GOOD!!!!!!!!! YUM! Glad I found your blog from Foodie Friends Friday today… can’t wait to read more!

  3. YUM, this looks so good. Thanks for sharing on Foodie Friends Friday and I hope you join us again this coming week. Pinning this to my recipes that caught my attention board.

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: March 18-24 | Mother on a Mission

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: April 1-7 | Mother on a Mission

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: April 15-21 | Mother on a Mission

  7. Rowdy Henry says:

    My GOODNESS GIRL!! This is my favorite by far!! I’ve always like spaghetti & now thanks to you.. I LOVE IT!! This beats Olive Garden hands down!!!

    • Oh my goodness, thank you for the kind words! We love this recipe, too; the heat is killing me right now because all I want to do is turn the oven on to bake some spaghetti. I’m glad you love it!

  8. Haley says:

    Should I cover it with tin foil before baking?

  9. Angie says:

    This looks so good. I’m going to make it for dinner tonight!

  10. Jackie says:

    Did anyone else have to add sauce? I used what it required (both noodles & sauce) & double checked to make sure it was right but it wasn’t as “saucy” as your picture 😦

    • Mine has always been saucy enough for me, but my husband made this recipe a few weeks ago and it was definitely a little on the dry side. Maybe it depends on the brand of sauce? Thank you for the feedback!

  11. Kathi says:

    Hi Abby! I am going to try this tonight. Can you tell me how much dry pasta you used?

  12. Pingback: Sausage & Tortellini | Mother on a Mission

  13. Pingback: Hello! | Mother on a Mission

  14. Destiny says:

    What if I wanted to add ground beef? Would it mess everything up if I just Browned it before and baked it with everything?

Leave a Reply

