How to make perfect scrambled eggs every time

perfect eggs

Scrambled eggs are a tricky beast.

As someone who prefers them not at all runny, I often find myself either choking down wet, loose eggs, or settling for dry, overcooked, rubbery ones.

There’s gotta be a better way. (Friends reference, anyone?)

Part of the mystery surrounding perfectly scrambled eggs comes from a wide range of opinions on the topic. Add water, add milk, add cream, add nothing, stir constantly, don’t stir at all… it’s easy to see why perfecting the process can be difficult.

This is how I’ve been making them lately, and I just can’t get enough. They’re thoroughly cooked but not too done, moist but not watery, fluffy but not artificial. They’re everything I always wanted my scrambled eggs to be.

Perfect Scrambled Eggs

You will need:

-eggs: I use two per person, plus one additional egg

-milk: 1 tablespoon per egg

-salt: add salt based on how you prefer your eggs to taste

-butter

-pepper

-shredded cheese, fresh herbs, etc. (optional)

In a bowl, beat your eggs, milk, and salt. You can’t over-beat the eggs, so scramble them nice and good.

Meanwhile, melt a pat of butter in a skillet over medium-low heat. If your stove cooks hot, like mine, you’ll want to be more low than medium. The amount of butter you use will depend the size of your skillet and your own personal preference. I usually use 1/2 to 1 tablespoon.

perfect eggs

When your butter is melted and bubbly, add the eggs.  Stir with a rubber spatula, being sure to scrape the sides and the bottom of the pan. Keep stirring as the eggs begin to scramble.

perfect eggs

When the pan contains more scrambles than liquid, turn the heat to medium-high (again, my stove cooks hot, so I use a temperature closer to medium). Now, instead of stirring, gently fold the eggs. If you’re using cheese or fresh herbs, add them now.

perfect eggs

Because I prefer my eggs drier, I cook them for about a minute more after increasing the heat. If you like them a little wet, cook them until they look right to you. When they look the way you want them to, remove from the pan and plate. Sprinkle immediately with pepper and serve hot.

perfect eggs

I want to know: how do you like your eggs?

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in Food & Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How to make perfect scrambled eggs every time

  1. I love scrambled eggs! My husband really needs to read your tutorial on how to make them, because whenever he tries to “surprise” me by making scrambled eggs he actually makes hard little overcooked egg-colored pellets of misery. Ugh.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love if you’d come join my How To Tuesday link party, too.

    http://housewifehowtos.com/link-party-2/how-to-tuesday-link-party-10/

  2. Hilary says:

    Yay for butter! I love a cook who is not afraid to use butter. Good stuff, especially the stuff from grass-fed, pasture-living cows. 🙂

  3. Great tips! Mine always turn out rubbery.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

