Healthful chocolate chip pancakes

chocolate chip pancakes

Chocolate chip pancakes remind me of one thing: summers with Granny.

When I was younger, my siblings and I spent summers in Mississippi with my dad. He worked during the week, which means we spent our days with Granny.

Granny is pretty much the coolest grandmother in the history of grandmothers. She’d let us use all the couch cushions to make forts, she once let us string all her old sewing thread throughout the house, she always had the coolest dress-up clothes, and she made the best chocolate chip pancakes.

They were just the right balance of moist and fluffy, with an ideal chocolate chip to batter ratio. She served them hot and always topped them with melted butter and powdered sugar. Not a sprinkling of powdered sugar, but more a blizzard of it.

Now that I’m grown with kids of my own, Granny is just as cool as ever. She keeps busy with 11 grandchildren and nine great-grandchildren, so it’s no surprise that I haven’t had her pancakes in quite a while.

granny

These days, when I’ve got a craving for chocolate chip pancakes, I go a slightly healthier route. These don’t contain any added sugar; instead they get their sweetness from bananas. And the chocolate chips, of course.

Don’t be mistaken, though. They’re more than sweet enough to satisfy the strongest of sweet tooths (read: mine). They’re rich and thick and eat more like a decadent dessert than a healthfulish meal.

The addition of white whole wheat flour and old-fashioned oatmeal makes them hearty and  filling. We enjoy these pancakes most often for supper. With a side of fresh fruit and a glass of milk, we’re happy campers.

griff loves chocolate

Better-for-You Chocolate Chip Pancakes

adapted from The Minimalist Baker

  • 2 medium bananas, the riper the better
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

1. In a large bowl, mash the bananas with the baking powder. Add the eggs, salt, vanilla, oil, and milk and mix well. Add the oats and flour, stir just until combined, and add the chocolate chips.

2. Spoon 1/4 to 1/3 cup of batter onto buttered skillet over medium-low heat. Cook until bubbles form and burst all across the surface of the pancake. Flip and bake another two or three minutes, until both sides are golden.

3. Serve with a few additional chocolate chips melted on top, sprinkled with powdered sugar, or spread with peanut butter. These are delicious any way you want to eat them.

chocolate chip pancakes4

I want to know: what food brings back the best childhood memories for you?

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in Food & Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Healthful chocolate chip pancakes

  1. Mac and cheese with a can of libby beans brings back my childhood memories. This is something we ate often for lunch. Your pancakes sound delicious. I have never put chocolate chips in mine, maybe someday I should. I found you on Tasty Thursdays and would like to invite you to our Foodie Friends FRiday Linky Party that starts tonight. I hope you will come and join us and link up to 3 recipes. Following you on Facebook now.
    The link to our party: http://marlys-thisandthat.blogspot.com/2013/02/foodie-friends-friday-don-tomas-coffee.html

  2. realcoake says:

    Oh my gosh! They look so good! I love that you are recreating your Grandma’s recipes. I’ve been doing the same thing, it is kind of fun.
    Thanks so much for linking up at Real Family Fun at The Real Thing with the Coake Family.
    Have a great weekend.
    KC

  3. i have GOTTA try this recipe your pics are amost edible 🙂

  4. Jayme Hennessy says:

    Oh my goodness. These pancakes look absolutely delicious. I love how thick they are. I would have never thought to put ripe bananas and oats in my batter. Thank you for this recipe. It will be on my menu for next week.

  5. flowerfroggirl says:

    *pinning* Those look FAB-ulous! Glad I linked up on Flamingo Toes Think Pink Sunday!

    #droolworthy

  6. Ericka says:

    These pancakes look wonderful! And a bonus that they’re healthier too! Thanks for sharing on Foodie Friends Friday!

  7. Rebecca says:

    These look so good! I love recipes that were my Nana’s they are the best 🙂 Have a great week!

  8. These look soooo good!! I love that you did a healthy version of them. The last picture is adorable 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing this at my link party!

    -Angie
    http://www.easylivingmom.com

  9. My grandma was an amazing cook and we lived next door so I always got to enjoy it. I loved potato latkes (not sure on the spelling there). Basically potato pancakes. They take a long time to make and i’m sure they are not healthy at all, but they bring back good memories of cooking in the kitchen with her. We lived on an apple orchard so fresh fruit pies and turnovers also give me the same feeling. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Weekly Goals: March 25-31 | Mother on a Mission

  11. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: April 1-7 | Mother on a Mission

  12. Pingback: Healthier Banana Cookies (with frosting?) | Mother on a Mission

  13. Pingback: Homemade Strawberry Sauce | Mother on a Mission

Leave a Reply

