DIY: $2 felt bunting

felt bunting

We’ve been in our house coming up on two months now, but the walls of Griffin’s bedroom are still puzzling me. I don’t want decor that screams “a toddler sleeps here!” but I don’t want to ignore the fact that he’s only two years old.

In other words, I want to decorate with fun pieces that will please both of us. While browsing Michael’s last weekend, I decided that this felt bunting was a perfect fit.

It’s whimsical and and colorful and fun. Griff loves the shapes and the pattern, and I appreciate that it can grow with him for several years.

The entire project was super easy; I completed it in a few hours, and that includes the breaks I took when the kids needed me. I had intended to make it during nap time, but Bennie didn’t really nap at all and Griff cut his short. So instead of a quiet hour and a quick project, I had two handy assistants and a solid three hours.

Regardless, I’m so happy with the way the bunting turned out.

The following is a step-by-step tutorial for the bunting. If you’re the kind of person who can see a project and instantly know how to recreate it, then the photos and instructions will likely be useless to you. But if, like me, you prefer to have everything spelled out for you, I hope you enjoy it.

Easy DIY Felt Bunting

  • sheets of felt – I paid $1 total at Michael’s for the five sheets of 9 x 12 I used. You can use any number and color variety that you’d like
  • twine or yarn – the length you need depends entirely on how long you’d like your bunting to be
  • hot glue gun & glue sticks

1. Begin by cutting your felt into triangles. I used two different sizes, mostly because I was just experimenting. You can see that I used a rotary cutter, and that certainly speeds things up, but a pair of scissors would be fine, too.

felt bunting2

The easiest method for getting triangles is to cut squares and then cut those squares in half diagonally, like this:

felt bunting3

If you prefer your triangles to have a more traditional bunting shape, you can cut them like this:

felt bunting4

Again, tools like mine aren’t at all necessary; scissors and a straight edge will work just as well.

felt bunting

Next, lay out your triangles in the pattern you want, if you decide to use a pattern. I considered just placing them randomly, but I decided that I would be more stressed trying to make sure they were really random than I would be by following a pattern.

felt bunting

I found it was easier to stack my triangles in the pattern, so that to glue them to the twine, all I had to do was pull from the top of the pile.

felt bunting

Decide how far apart you want your triangles to be on the yarn, and then glue. And glue and glue. Hopefully, you have helpers as fun as mine.

felt bunting

The gluing is the most time consuming part, but it isn’t tedious. Of course, the amount of time you spend gluing will vary based on how long you decide to make your bunting. When you’re through, you’ll have a big pile of finished bunting.

felt bunting

Now you just have to hang it!

felt bunting

I’m not sure how I didn’t notice the big crack in the wall before I took the photo. I love living in a house with character. That isn’t even sarcasm.

felt bunting

And that’s it. For a few dollars and a little bit of time, you can make your own felt bunting. I think these would be adorable in different holiday colors, for birthday parties, or to string around the room at a baby shower. The possibilities are sort of endless.

If you love the idea of bunting, but want something slightly fancier, you can check out this burlap and fabric bunting that I made for Bennie’s room. It’s for sale in my Etsy shop in the fabric(s) of your choice!

Three Thousand Miles

I want to know: what easy DIY projects have you tackled lately, or do you plan to tackle? I’d love links!

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in DIY, Frugal Living, Homemaking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY: $2 felt bunting

  1. realcoake says:

    Very cute!
    Thanks so much for linking up!
    KC

  2. Monica says:

    Thank you for the DIY. I have so much felt at my house, I’ll have to make this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

