Chocolate Buttercream Frosting Recipe

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

For years, I was convinced that store bought frosting was just as good as something I could make at home. Buy the canned stuff, throw in a brick of softened cream cheese, and no one will know the difference, I thought.

Now I know that I was just young and foolish. It saddens me to think that I wasted some of the best cake-eating years of my life on something that I truly believed in.

The following is an example of the type of recipe I can’t believe I was missing. So please, don’t make the same mistake that I did. Instead, just make this recipe. Preferably now.

My helper during my most recent buttercream venture:

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup whole milk or heavy cream

1. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter on medium speed until it is fluffy.

2. Sift in the powdered sugar, followed by the cocoa powder. With the mixer on the lowest speed, mix until the dry ingredients are incorporated into the butter.

3. Increase speed to medium and add salt, vanilla, and milk or cream. Beat for three minutes.

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

I want to know: what’s your favorite kind of frosting? What’s your favorite vehicle for said frosting?

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in Food & Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Buttercream Frosting Recipe

  1. cathy says:

    Can’t wait to try this recipe

Leave a Reply

