Baked Chicken Taquitos

Bake Chicken Taquitos

We love these chicken taquitos. Love them.

I’ve done a decent amount of experimenting with different spices and seasonings. They’re pretty much amazing no matter how I tweak the recipe, but the following is our current favorite. Feel free to play with the flavors to find a formula that suits your family best.

Baked Chicken Taquitos

Baked Chicken Taquitos

adapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything

  • 2 cups cooked shredded chicken
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/3 cup green salsa
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/3 cup diced onion (or 1/2 tsp onion powder)
  • 1 cup grated cheddar cheese (or cheese of your choice)
  • 8 flour tortillas
  • kosher salt for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a large bowl, combine everything but the chicken. Add the chicken and mix until chicken is coated.

Scoop 1/8 of the mixture- about 1/4 to 1/3 cup-onto a tortilla, spreading it into a line. Roll the tortilla up around the filling without folding or tucking the edges. Repeat until all the filling and/or all the tortillas are used.

Place the assembled taquitos on a sprayed, foil-lined baking sheet. Lightly spray the tops with cooking spray and sprinkle with kosher salt. Bake for 10-15 minutes, until tortillas are golden and edges are brown.

We enjoy these plain, but they’re also great dipped in salsa, sour cream, guacamole, or cheese sauce.

Note: I almost always make these ahead of time. Sometimes I freeze the assembled taquitos- unsprayed and unsalted- on a baking sheet for a few hours. Then I remove them, wrap them in foil, and place them in a freezer bag (the tortilla bag works well for this). To bake, I place them in the fridge in the morning and bake them like normal for supper. They also keep great in the fridge when assembled around lunchtime (read: nap time) and baked  for supper).

Baked Chicken Taquitos

I want to know: what recipe does your family eat most often?

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in Food & Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Baked Chicken Taquitos

  1. Lindsey says:

    Saving this recipe now! It looks absolutely delicious!
    I would love it if you could join us for Thrifty Thursday linky party! You would fit right in and we would love to have you!
    Hope to see you there!

    appleofmamaseye.blogspot.com

    -Lindsey

  2. I’m pinning this because I usually just buy frozen ones, which I’m sure are terrible for you. Thanks for the recipe!

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: February 25-March 3 | Mother on a Mission

  4. Jen L. says:

    I made these tonight and they were SO YUMMY! My husband and picky eater son really enjoyed them. I’ve been stuck in a rut with my meal planning. When I saw your picture of these, I knew I had to try them. They were so simple to make. Next time, I’ll double the recipe and freeze half. Thank you for sharing!

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: March 18-24 | Mother on a Mission

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: May 20-26 | Mother on a Mission

  7. Rachel says:

    Did you try these using corn tortillas? Recipe sounds great!

  8. Pingback: Baked Chicken Taquitos | Zaghloul Family Recipes

Leave a Reply

