Oven-fried Chimichangas

Mother on a Mission: Oven-fried chimichangas

I think I went to one of the only high schools in America that still has off-campus lunch periods.

Every day, my friends and I had 35 glorious minutes of freedom. No cafeteria food for us. Sometimes we’d head to someone’s house, or to McDonald’s (hello, dollar menu), or to DQ.

Or sometimes, if we were feeling particularly gastronomically-courageous, we would walk to the little cinder block convenience store on Main Street. They served everything from chimichangas and burritos to pizza sticks and sausage pockets. Their smorgasbord of fried food was the type only teenagers can eat and live to tell about; remembering the way the smell would cling to my clothes still makes me cringe.

Ready for a recipe now?

These oven-fried chimichangas are everything you wish you could get from your local hole-in-the-wall, but without the lingering smell and the quadruple-digit calorie count.

They’re baked instead of fried, so they’re much healthier than the version you might be used to. Before baking, the tops are brushed with butter and sprinkled with salt to achieve a delightfully crisp and crunchy outer shell while maintaining a melty inside.

Mother on a Mission: Oven-fried Chimichangas

Oven-fried Chimichangas

adapted from Big Oven

  • 2/3 cup salsa (green or red both taste great; sometimes I use a combination of both)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp dried Oregano
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (depending on the heat of your salsa, or your personal preference, you might want to omit this)
  • 1/4 cup diced onion
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked chicken, shredded or diced
  • 1 cup shredded cheese (I usually use cheddar because that’s what I have; use your favorite)
  • 6 medium flour tortillas
  • 1 tbs butter, melted
  • kosher salt
  • garnish of choice: sour cream, guacamole, salsa, cheese

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a large bowl, combine the salsa, cumin, Oregano, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and onion. Add chicken and cheese and stir until well-combined.

2. Place one-sixth of the mixture in the center of a tortilla. Fold two opposite sides over the mixture and then fold in the other sides. Place seam-side down on a greased cookie sheet. I cover my baking sheet with foil because these have a tendency to ooze just a little. While it might not be environmentally friendly, it’s certainly cleanup friendly.

3. Brush each chimichanga with melted butter and sprinkle lightly with kosher salt. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until tortillas are golden brown. Garnish with your choice of toppings.

Mother on a Mission: Oven-fried ChimichangasI want to know: what food from your teenage years makes you cringe now?

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in Food & Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Oven-fried Chimichangas

  1. Woah… these look amazing! We would love it if you would link up at our new linky party: Two Girls and a Party Hosted by:
    Dana @ This Silly Girl’s Life
    Parrish @ Life with the Crust Cut Off
    We hope to see you there!

  2. All linked up! Thanks for the invitation!

  3. Mariel says:

    These look delicious! I would love for you to share this or any of your great ideas at the link party going on now (and every Saturday through Tuesday) at ‘Or so she says …’ Also, don’t miss the Sweethearts Giveaway starting on Monday with over $2,000 in prizes. Hope to see you there! http://www.oneshetwoshe.com

  4. Thanks so much for linking up at Two Girls and a Party!
    We hope to see you back every Wednesday to link up and check our featured blogs!

  5. BeckyMcNeer says:

    Wow, these look delicious!! My kind of food! Thanks for sharing at Foodtastic Friday! Email me if you are interested in transferring your blog to wordpress.org.

  6. Pingback: How once a month cooking saves me time and money | Mother on a Mission

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: February 18-24 | Mother on a Mission

  8. These look great! I found you on Foodie Friends Friday. I am starting a blog party and hope you will join me! http://rediscovermom.blogspot.com/2013/02/tried-and-true-recipes-from-our-families.html

  9. Pingback: Another wonderful week of Recipes that Caught OUR Attention from our Foodie Friends Friday Linky Party!~Daily Dish with Foodie Friends Friday

  10. These sound wonderful Thanks for linking up on Foodie Friends Friday and I hope you will join us again this week.

  11. I’m loving these!! Thank you for sharing with Simple Supper Tuesday.

  12. thehomeheart says:

    Looks great. I saw you at Tempt My Tummy Tuesday and had to come over. We love Mexican food!

  13. I LOVE chimichangas!!! I banned my deep fryer from the kitchen, so I will definitely have to try these 🙂

  14. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: March 25-31 | Mother on a Mission

  15. I pinned this and will be trying it, thanks for the recipe!

  16. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: April 1-7 | Mother on a Mission

  17. Jocelyn says:

    These are delicious! However, they are a bit salty, so I think I will omit the 1 tsp. of salt next time I make them. Thanks so much.

  18. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday – March 25th Edition | Living in White Bear Lake

Leave a Reply

