Baked Oven Fries

Baked Oven Fries

I love potatoes. Probably more than anyone should love a food, especially one that doesn’t really love you back. I don’t buy potatoes often, because when I do, I tend to, well, eat them.

Part of the problem with potatoes is that their best friends are equally unhealthy. Butter? Bad. Cheese? Bad. Bacon? Bad. But oh so good, too.

Because of my perpetual lust for all things potato, I’m constantly on the lookout for ways to put a healthier spin on my favorite potato recipes. So when I find a recipe that claims to give you fries baked in the oven that rival the deep fried variety, I’m in.

This recipe was easy. Peeling and slicing the potatoes took about 5 minutes, max. And I’m a slow peeler, probably due to the fact that I’m irrationally afraid of peeling my own hand.

The baking instructions are a little demanding: add foil, remove foil, rotate, flip, rotate. But the end result is unarguably delicious. Now that I’ve made these once, I’m dreaming about making them again with new flavor combinations. I’m thinking garlic and Parmesan…

Now, in the spirit of my opening post, I bring you a not-healthy-but-not-as-unhealthy-as-it-could-be recipe. Baby steps, people. Baby steps.

Baked Oven Fries

adapted slightly from Annie’s Eats

  • 3 russet potatoes
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  1. Preheat your oven to 475 degrees. Peel your potatoes, slice them once lengthwise, then cut the slices into half-moon wedges.
  2. Put potato wedges in a large bowl and cover with hot water. Let them soak for about 10 minutes.
  3. While the potatoes are soaking, pour 1/4 cup of oil onto a rimmed baking sheet. Tilt pan until the entire surface is covered with oil. Sprinkle the salt and pepper evenly over the oil.
  4. Drain the water from the potatoes and transfer them to a cloth napkin spread on the counter. Arrange them into a single layer and use a second napkin to dab them dry.
  5. Rinse and dry the large bowl, put the potatoes back in, and add 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil. Toss the wedges until they’re coated with oil.
  6. Dump the potatoes onto the baking sheet and spread into a single layer. Cover tightly with foil and bake for 5 minutes. Remove the foil and bake for 15 minutes more, rotating the pan halfway through.
  7. Using a spatula, flip each potato, making sure that they’re still in a single layer when you’re through. Return to the oven and bake an additional 7-9 minutes.
  8. Remove pan from oven and transfer wedges to a paper towel-lined plate. You can add more salt and/or pepper at this point, but I didn’t find it necessary. Be sure to get enjoy them while they’re warm!

Hey, look. There’s my kid enjoying a nice warm wedge. My kid who cannot keep his eyes open during a photo to save his life.

I want to know: what’s your favorite way to eat (or prepare) potatoes?

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in Food & Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Baked Oven Fries

  1. Yum! These look really good. Looks like you’re a new blog—hope you’re enjoying it!

    I’m hosting my Homemaking Linkup Weekend and would love to have you join, if you’d like!

    Have a great day!
    Mrs. Sarah Coller

  2. Laurie @ Simply Creating Home says:

    Oh wow! These look amazing! I’m in, too, and will be pinning this so I can make them sometime soon. Thanks so much for stopping by and visiting my blog earlier! I appreciate the pin, and the sweet words. Blessings!

  3. Marie says:

    Those look so yummy! A garlic Parmesan flavor would be great. My latest obsession is scalloped potatoes! You may have forgotten potato’s other best friend……heavy cream. Lol. I put it in my mashed and scalloped potatoes. Yikes!

  4. Cari says:

    these are seriously the best! My husband doesn’t like any kind of oven fries, but after I made these, he has requested them at least 10 times since!!

Leave a Reply

