Sausage & Tortellini

Sausage & Tortellini: a 20 minute one-pot meal that's flavorful and filling.

I’m always eager to read recipes on Pinterest that claim to be “one pot” meals. A quick, delicious meal that’s easy to prepare and only requires my husband me to clean one pan? Tell me more.

More often than not, I’m disappointed by those recipes, though. Most of them seem to be a slight variation of the same tired, boring dishes.

Not this sausuage and tortellini recipe, though. I knew immediately it would be different from others I’d seen because, even though it includes pasta, I don’t have to boil it.

Epic, right? And if that isn’t enough to convince you, the smoky sausage, tangy Parmesan, and subtle spices will do the trick. This meal comes together in under 20 minutes, making it an easy weeknight meal that will taste as if you cooked all day.
Image
Sausage & Tortellini
adapted from here

1 14 oz. package smoked sausage
2-2 1/2 cups tortellini pasta (I use the smaller size package of Buitoni Three Cheese)
1 1/2 cups chicken broth
1 1/2 cups pasta sauce
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
2 tsp Italian seasoning
shredded or freshly grated Parmesan cheese
Image
Begin by slicing sausage into 1/2 inch rounds (I like to go one step further and cut mine into half moons). Cook the sausage in a skillet coated with nonstick spray for about 5-7 minutes over medium heat, or until sausage is browning. Add garlic and cook for two more minutes. Next, add the chicken broth, pasta sauce, red pepper flakes, and Italian seasoning. When mixture begins to simmer, add the pasta and cook uncovered for about 10 minutes more- I usually taste a piece of pasta to test if it’s done. Serve topped with Parmesan cheese.

Looking for another super simple but delicious pasta dish? Try my most popular recipe.

I want to know: what types of recipes do you go crazy over on Pinterest?

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sausage & Tortellini

  1. I like to pin easy recipes like this one, but if I think the results will be worth the time, I’ll pin recipes that are more time consuming, too. I’m visiting your blog because of your guest post over at MoneySavingMom!

    • I enjoy spending a little extra time on a meal that’s worth it, too. The norm, though, is a meal like this one! Thank you so much for checking out by blog and taking time to comment!

  2. Pingback: Twice-Baked Potato Casserole | Mother on a Mission

Leave a Reply

