Healthier Banana Cookies (with frosting?)

Healthier Banana Cookies | Mother on a Mission

I love to bake with bananas.

They’re an inexpensive ingredient and a great way to sweeten a recipe without adding so much white sugar. We often have overripe bananas that need to be baked, and I always have a tough time choosing which of my favorite banana recipes to use.

This time, I found a completely new recipe. It looked delicious, but I wasn’t sold on all of the unhealthy ingredients. I felt certain I could make a version that was just as tasty, but didn’t use butter, shortening, or so much sugar.

I’m happy to report that I was successful. These cookies are light and chewy, with just the right amount of sweetness. I think they taste great on their own, but I went ahead and made some frosting anyway. Partly so they wouldn’t look so lonely when I photographed them, and partly just to see how much better it made them.

See? See how lonely they look?

Healthier Banana Cookies | Mother on a Mission

Although the frosting was a tasty addition, I don’t think it’s at all necessary. If a plain banana cookie doesn’t sound appealing to you, there are lots of options other than frosting. I think they’d be great spread with peanut butter. You could add mini chocolate chips to the batter, or even chopped nuts, if you’re into that sort of thing.

Healthier Banana Cookies | Mother on a Mission

Healthier Banana Cookies with Optional Frosting

heavily adapted from here

  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1/2 c.  honey
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 c. nonfat plain or vanilla Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla (if using vanilla yogurt, decrease amount to 1/2 tsp.)
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 1/2 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 1/4 c. white whole wheat flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Beat together sugar, honey, applesauce, yogurt, eggs, bananas, milk, and lemon juice. Add remaining ingredients and stir just until combined. Drop batter by the large tablespoonful onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper (or a greased baking sheet). Bake 9-11 minutes, or until cookies are matte and just beginning to turn golden around the edges. After baking, transfer immediately to cooling rack.

For the frosting:

  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 2 c. powdered sugar
  • 1 tbs. butter, melted
  • 1 tbs. milk
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla

Beat together all ingredients until well combined. Spread onto cookies, or lay cookies out, sides touching, on a sheet of wax paper and drizzle frosting over all of them at once.

Healthier Banana Cookies | Mother on a Mission

I want to know: what’s your favorite way to use overripe bananas?

About Abby Winstead

Hi! I'm Abby. I love Jesus, and I'm also a wife, a mom, and a wannabe game show contestant. I blog about getting crazy in the kitchen, my parenting (mis)adventures, and my baby steps toward creating a frugal, happy household.My goal in life is to be the mom- and make this world the kind of place- my children deserve.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Healthier Banana Cookies (with frosting?)

  1. Foodie in WV says:

    I love using bananas in recipes. These look really good!

  2. Shauna {The Best Blog Recipes} says:

    I LOVE cookies, I LOVE bananas, I LOVE frosting! I think I would LOVE these cookies :) Thanks for linking up this post to The Weekend re-Treat on The Best Blog Recipes. I wanted to stop by and “Pin” your post while I was here tonight :)

    Shauna

    http://thebestblogrecipes.blogspot.com/

  3. Michelle L says:

    Hi, Abby! Those sound so good, I have never had a banana cookie but it makes total sense now that you say it. Thanks for the recipe!

  4. Tammy says:

    We always have bananas around here that need to be used for something else. My favorite banana bread is this one that I posted about last year: http://tsdailytreasures.blogspot.com/2012/06/tea-time.html
    I always change up recipes.
    And lately I’ve been making breakfast cookies:

    http://tsdailytreasures.blogspot.com/2013/03/breakfast-cookie.html

    It’s like portable oatmeal. So yummy!
    I will definitely be giving your cookie recipe a try.
    Best wishes, Tammy

  5. Oh my, Abby! These look so delectable! The frosting (or ANY) frosting should never be optional…I’m SO a frosting girl! Have you ever heard of frosting shots? Just frosting without any cake or cookie in a little cup! I’m going to have to make these…I just happen to have ripened bananas on the counter! Have a fun weekend, Abby!

  6. Kinsley says:

    Hey Abby! These cookies are making my mouth water! I wanted to come by and remind you to link up at Home | Styled again this week! Hope you have a blessed weekend! http://home-styled.blogspot.com/2013/04/link-party-show-your-style-sunday-2.html

  7. I love cookies that are healthy! Great recipe!

  8. Bananas are great. Cookies are great. I’m assuming this is great!

    I’d like to invite you to join my monthly round up Pantry Party also. This month’s theme is cookies and these look lovely. I’d love if you entered these cookies or another cookie to the round up! http://lawstudentscookbook.wordpress.com/2013/03/31/pantry-party-april-2013-announcement/

  9. Lisa says:

    Okay, this has nothing to do with those delicious-looking cookies, but I read on a different blog that you exclusively pumped for your first child AND your second. WOW! I’m doing that now and it’s soooo much work! Cleaning the pump parts, making sure everything is with me when I need it, cleaning the bottles, keeping everything fresh and stored safely– it’s a lot! Anyway, I don’t actually know anyone who does this, so I thought that I’d reach out and say hi. It’s pretty exhausting and it’s nice to low that there is someone else in the world who has done it successfully. Go momma!

    • First, thanks for stopping by! I agree, pumping exclusively can be overwhelming. For me, at least with my first, pumping was about not wanting to “fail” again. First, I failed at having a vaginal delivery, then I failed at breastfeeding when my son just wouldn’t do it. I refused to fail at providing him breastmilk, too (yes, I realize now that having a healthy, loved, nourished child is in no way a failure, but my postpartum self wasn’t rational).

      By the time I had my daughter, pumping just seemed easier. I could sleep through the night, I could take a half-day long once-a-month grocery shopping trip, I could work full-time. Pumping was hard, but it just worked for us.

      Just know that you’re doing a great thing for your baby! I don’t know anyone else who pumped exclusively, either, but at least there’s the two of us. Keep on keeping on, Mama, and let me know if you need any support/encouragement/answers, etc.

Leave a Reply

