Cheddar Bacon Jalapeño Biscuits

 

Cheddar Bacon Jalapeño Biscuits

If it wasn’t already evident from the recipe I posted last week, let me say that I love anything that combines peppers and cheese. If it has bacon? Well now you’ve got all your basic food groups covered.

I made these on the fly last week while we were exiled at my in-law’s house. As I was preparing to make regular old cheese biscuits, I spotted a jar of jalapenos in the cabinet. And then I remembered the bacon in the fridge. I don’t typically buy bacon, but I was more than willing to eat their’s.

I’m so glad I added the peppers and the pork. These turned out moist and flavorful and much more hearty than they would have without those additions. I think the recipe was perfect the way I made it, but you could easily adjust it to account for your spice preferences; they would even be good if you made them without the peppers or without the bacon.

Cheddar Bacon Jalapeño Biscuits

Bacon Jalapeno Cheddar Biscuits
heavily adapted from this recipe

  • 1 1/2 cups Biscquick or other biscuit mix
  •  1 1/2 cups shredded cheese (I usually use cheddar, but a combination of cheddar and pepperjack is delicious, too)
  •  1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup diced bacon
  • 2 tbs diced jalapenos, either fresh or canned (if using fresh, remove seeds)
  • 1 tbs butter, melted
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp garlic salt

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a large bowl, combine Bisquick, cheese, milk, bacon, and jalapenos. The dough will be sticky, but that’s okay. Drop large tablespoons of the mixture onto a greased sheet pan. Don’t worry about shaping or rolling them.

2. Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until the biscuits lose their stickiness and begin to color just a little. While they’re baking, combine the oregano and garlic salt with the melted butter and mix well. Remove the biscuits from the oven (don’t turn the oven off yet) and brush each one with the butter mixture.

3. Return the biscuits to the oven for 6-9 minutes, or until they’re nice and golden. Remove and enjoy them while they’re hot!

 

Cheddar Bacon Jalapeño Biscuits

 

I want to know: what fun ingredients will you include in your biscuits?

 

About Abby

I'm a wife, a mom of two, and a high school teacher who loves to read, bake, cook, and be with my family.
This entry was posted in Food & Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Cheddar Bacon Jalapeño Biscuits

  1. Six Sisters says:

    Can’t wait to try these biscuits! They look amazing. Thanks for sharing them at our Strut Your Stuff Saturday! -The Six Sisters

  2. They look amazing! Thank you for sharing with Foodie Friends Friday! Please come back this week with another great recipe!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Goals: March 18-24 | Mother on a Mission

  4. marbaird says:

    These look simply amazing. Bacon with a touch of janepeno, YUM

  5. Oh man, these are making me drool all over my keyboard! Thanks for sharing at Simple Supper Tuesday!!

  6. Cynthia L. says:

    I am not sure which part of the biscuit is better, the pepper or the bacon! Great combination.

    Thank you for sharing at the In and Out of the Kitchen link party. I look forward to seeing what you bring next week!

    Cynthia at http://FeedingBig.com

  7. Pingback: Jalapeño Popper Pizza | Mother on a Mission

Leave a Reply

